Local NewsSubscriber

Omicron Variant In SE Nebraska

By Gordon HopkinsOn November 26, 2021, the World Health Organization (WHO) classified a new variant of the virus, dubbed omicron, as a “Variant of Concern.” The Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS), the Nebraska Public Health Solutions (PHS) District, and the Nebraska Public Health Laboratory (NPHL) have now detected six cases of the omicron variant of SARS-CoV-2 among district residents.The PHS District includes Jefferson, Saline, Gage, Fillmore and Thayer Counties.PHS did not identify in which counties the six cases were found. PHS Director Kim Showalter explained, “Due to the low population in our very rural counties, we’re not ...


Related Articles