Local News

Upcoming Primary Election

Voting for the Nebraska primary election will be held on Tuesday, May 10, 2022.
The Fairbury Journal-News goes to print Tuesday morning, before results of voting will be available. Therefore, as we have done for many years, FJN will post results online, on our website and Facebook, and in the window of the FJN office at 510 C Street in Fairbury. A more detailed analysis of the results will be published the following week, in the May 18th issue.
Nebraska is a closed primary state. That means only those who are registered with a particular party will have the opportunity to vote in that party’s primary for partisan candidates.
For example, the Jefferson County Sheriff is a partisan position. All three candidates running in this year’s election, incumbent Nick Georgi, Deputy Cody Barry and Wilbur Young, are running as Republicans. Only those voters registered as Republicans will have the opportunity to vote for one of those candidates in the primary election. Ballots for voters registered as Democratic, Libertarian or other affiliation, will not have the option to vote for one of those candidates.
There are no candidates from any other parties running for Sheriff this election year.
There are nine Republican candidates vying to be governor: Jim Pillen of Columbus, Charles Herbster of Falls City, Senator Brett Lindstrom of Omaha, Theresa Thibodeau of Omaha, Michael Connely of York, Breland Ridenour of Elkhorn, Lela McNinch of Lincoln, Donna Nicole Carpenter of Lincoln and Troy Wentz of Sterling.
The Democrat gubernatorial candidates are Carol Blood of Bellevue and Roy Harris of Linwood.
Scott Zimmerman of Omaha is running on the Libertarian ticket.
Jefferson County voters will also have the chance to vote for Nebraska Attorney General. The current Attorney general, Republican Doug Peterson, is not running for reelection. Republican candidates are Jennifer Hicks of Peru and Mike Hilgers of Lincoln. There is no Democratic candidate and Larry Bolinger of Alliance represents the Legal Marijuana Now party.
Jefferson County is located in congressional district 3, which is currently represented by incumbent Rep. Adrian Smith of Gering. Smith, a Republican, is being challenged by Mike Calhoun of Bellevue. Democrats running are David Else of Overton and Daniel Wik of Norfolk. The lone Marijuana Now candidate is Mark Elworth Jr. of Omaha.
The general election will be on Tuesday, November 8.


Related Articles

Check Also