Local News

Four Candidates For Village Board

By FJN Staff
There are currently four candidates for the Jansen Village Board of Trustees.
The Nebraska Secretary of State will be holding a special election on Tuesday, July 11, 2023 to replace the four board members who have recently resigned. Deadline for candidates to file is June 13 and June 30 is the deadline for write-in affidavits.
The four candidates are: Carol Ellis, Susan Dickman, Jared Russell and Chris Ackman.
A petition for a harassment protection order has been filed in Jefferson County District Court against Ackman by former board trustee Kesha Eldridge. A hearing has not yet been held and the allegations in the petition are unproven at this time.
A single member, Janene Russell, remains on the board at this time. The village is also without a clerk and treasurer. Until a new board is elected, the village remains without a quorum. Without a quorum, the board is no longer able to vote on business. There will be no further meetings of the board until after the special election.


Related Articles